Poem: My Person by Josviel Diaz

 My Person  by Josviel Diaz

Langston Hughes
was a poet.

Now he is
a poem.

Poem written by one of my first graders, this past June. The assignment was: “Write a poem about a person, or people.”    No other guide lines were expected. We studied Langston during our Poets & Poetry unit. A selection of his poems were in the students’ poetry folders; making the student’s choice of theme, in My Person, more than fitting. He wrote the poem in front of me, and then read it aloud once completed. I fell in love with it instantly. Surely the title was inspired by our class’ class poem: My People by Langston Hughes. Over the course of the school year, my students recited My People for at least a half dozen audiences. Regardless of the inspiration the class curriculum provided, My Person is an original poem. Much respect to its young author.

Leave a Reply

