A Picture Book A Day: Day 10 One by Kathryn Otoshi

I had a meeting today with Dr. Carroll Blake, Executive Director for the Achievement Gap in Boston Public Schools. We spoke for over an hour. It was a mutual consultation to discuss the achievement of our black boys in Boston.  I was so incredibly grateful that he made time in his schedule to meet with me.

And guess what?  He gave me a brand new picture book. I told him about my blog.   He gave me the book,

One by Kathryn Otoshi

Published by: Ko Kids Books 2008.

Image

I plan to read it after I cook dinner.  I am looking forward to it. It is a book that brings a new approach to dealing with bullies.

Two things are cool:

1. ) We actually exchanged picture books, Dr. Blake and I.  He gave me the book, One, to promote what should be being read in the classroom. I gave him a secondhand copy of Country Bunny and the Little Gold Shoes to expose what SHOULDN’T be read in the classroom.

2.) I found this picture on the web of my governor, Deval Patrick, reading One, to some school children.

That’s all for now. Thank you for reading The Picture Book Pusher

Leave a Reply

