The unlearning process

RedLipstickAndKinkyHair

My child, I speak these words to you not by a wisdom I have always known but of one, which I am still learning. May your path be different from my own, I pray this.

This costume of blackness, of browness, of color, should not define you.

 

Unlearn the lessons of your forefathers.

Yes, remember the lessons of the Kings, the Woodsons, and the Mandela’s but unlearn them.

Let each day be an opportunity to let the sun paint you a new history.

 

The blood and the pain of your ancestors is neither your present nor your future. Unlearn it.

Those battles have been fought and I urge you, my beautiful child of color to find your own battle.

 

And your battle may be the most difficult one yet.

To learn to love the very essence of our pain. The very essence that is ours, the essence…

View original post 47 more words

Leave a Reply

